Posted by: susankayjones | May 5, 2011

but

such a small word.

such huge significance.

many ways to use it :: an excuse, an explanation, an exception….or my favorite-a turning point, a resolution, a hopeful shift from what was to what will or could be. oh yes…that is my favorite “but”

i think i like the implications of such a small word because it indicates such big promises from such a small word. it’s positive, it’s bold and it’s hopeful.

some of my favorite “buts” are found in Scripture…..usually preceeded by something bad, but followed by some great truth or promise. (see…just did it right there in that sentence!)

take for example….

ephesians 2

 And you were  dead in the trespasses and sins  in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience— 3among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. But God, being  rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved—

 

lamentations 3:19-24 (which came after 2 chapters describing the destruction and sorrow of Jerusalem)

Remember my affliction and my wanderings,   the wormwood and the gall! My soul continually remembers it  and is bowed down within me.  But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;   his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;   great is your faithfulness.  “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,  “therefore I will hope in him.”

if i were to write some “buts” in my life, i think they’d go something like this:

  • i am a sinner, but God saved me through the blood of Jesus Christ
  • i was left in a marriage, but God restored me fully, wholly, completely, and supernaturally
  • i fear and lack faith often, but God is still in control and exhibits faithfulness when i do not
  • i struggle physically with RA, but God uses it to remind me that this life is temporary and greater things will come
  • i want many things, but God provides what is best for me

what are yours?

Responses

  1. I love the “buts” and the “therefores”! We are studying Hebrews in our Precept class and I have been so loving all the action verbs…go, run, endure…it’s so enlightening to read Hebrews and focus on those words, a picture of what we as Christians need to do! So press on new friend but don’t forget to keep these posts coming!
    Patti Brown


Leave a Reply

Categories

