Posted by: susankayjones | February 8, 2011

humility

Lately I have been reading through one of my favorite (if not my absolute favorite) books, Andrew Murray’s “Humility.” I was introduced to this book a few years ago (Thank you Terra!), and it completely changed how I view life. The truth in it will likely come as no surprise, but Murray’s anointed words, seem to cut me to my core.  God continues to refine me in this area, but oh, do I have so much more to learn!

Here are a few nuggets I find particularly cutting:

  • “It needs to be made clear that it is not sin that humbles, but grace.”
  • “It is a solemn thought that our love for God is measured by our everyday relationships with others.”
  • “It is easy to think that we humble ourselves before God, but our humility toward others is the only sufficient proof that our humility before God is real.”
  • “Manifestations of temper and touchiness and irritation, feelings of bitterness and estrangement, have their root in nothing but pride.”
  • “Humiliation (total dependence on God, not embarrassment) is the only ladder to honor in God’s kingdom.”
  • “Let us pray that other gifts may not so satisfy us that we never grasp the fact that the absence of humility is no doubt the reason why the power of God cannot do its mighty work”
  • “There is no pride so dangerous, so subtle and insidious, as the pride of holiness. It is not that a man ever say, or even thinks, “Stay away, I am too sacred for you!” The thought would be considered ludicrous. But unconsciously there can develop a private habit of soul that feels complacency in its attainments and cannot help but see how far it is ahead of others. It isn’t always seen in self-assertion or self-praise, but in the absence of self-denial and modesty that reveals a lack of the mark of the soul that has seen the glory of God.”

Along this topic, I have felt completely humbled lately by God’s allowance of me to participate in what He is doing in Guatemala. I mean, really, I am not worthy….but oh, so grateful! Please continue to pray that God burdens my heart for, and puts me in situations/exposes me to people where I can participate in,  HIS ministry here. To take part in that is…..well….humbling.

Here’s a link to purchase it on Amazon if you’re interested. I assure you…it will NOT disappoint….but it WILL convict!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/076422560X/ref=oss_product

Responses

  1. sounds like a great book! we are currently reading waking the dead by john eldredge, another book that gets to heart issues. blessings to you, dear friend. we need to skype sometime soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

