Posted by: susankayjones | September 25, 2010

comfort

hmmmm….could it be that comfort is an enemy of humility?

pienso que, si! (i think… yes!)

i have realized that since boarding the plane to move to guatemala (actually, long before then), i really, really like comfort. anything that invades my comfort is treated like an allergen to my heart—i want to reject it.

sometimes it is hard for me to discern when comfort is something i appreciate or something i idolize. i am fairly certain i do not hold comfort open-handed with the Lord. instead, i expect my agenda, my needs (and beyond) and expectations to be met.

the last few weeks (months, really), my prayer has been to strip me of me. i wouldn’t recommend praying that unless you really mean it! 🙂  it has been, while not easy, wonderful.

to be stripped of self (and for me, comfort), is actually good for the soul. there is nothing about this experience that is aided by my selfish desires being met. could it be that the allergen i dread is actually the agent for true sanctification? again…pienso que si!

do not misunderstand…my time in guatemala has been absolutely wonderful, and frankly, many of my “comfort desires” have been met (if not exceeded). i am in no way “suffering” by living here. still….being in a new country, adapting to a new culture, defining a new lifestyle, learning a new language….all of these are outside my comfort zone. i am being stretched and it is GOOD! 🙂

i’ve been studying isaiah lately, and my prayer is that i do not come complacent in my worship…causing God to despise my “offerings” of worship. no…i want to offer true worship, with a heart that is not seeking other gods (ie-the god of comfort). MORE of Jesus…less of me=a very good thing.

Responses

  1. thanks for sharing! glad that God is working in your heart.

  2. so so true! i have come to the same conclusion, as of late. this is a difficult lesson to learn as an American. praying for more refining, knowing that it is for your good and joy and God’s glory!
    love you!

  3. so glad to hear from you….GOD sure has a way of getting us out of our comfort zone doesn’t HE!
    We are praying for you and for your discomfort!!!
    Patti B.
    Tellico Village Precept Class

  4. Haha, that is a dangerous prayer… speaking from experience! I can say that prayer last summer is the reason I’m now in Africa! It does take time to adjust to the new surroundings, even if you love everything and everyone around. It really hit me this week how much I miss my normal support system (mom, sister, & best friend) in dealing with every day things but especially in crisis mode. But, as you know, those things force you to God for guidance and comfort as well as into new friendships with those that God has around you.

    Glad you’re enjoying your time and I’m praying for you three! =)

    Love yal!
    Naomi

  5. Hey,
    We are so on the same page. I prayed today at Bible Study that God would move us out of our comfort zone in the area of sharing our faith in Tellico Village. Afterward, Patti asked me if I had read your blog…which i had not! Now that I have I get why she asked me that. Amazing! Love hearing from you…Love you, Mom

  6. That’ll preach.

    This particularly resonated with me. This is true for me as it relates to comfort in all areas, whether physical comfort, social comfort, etc.

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

