Posted by: susankayjones | December 2, 2009

Fear and Forty Something K

When I began my journey into full time missions, I knew I would learn alot….about the Lord…about missions…and also about myself. I knew that I’d be stretched and molded, but I wasn’t completely prepared to stare my sin smack dab in the face daily. I suppose that is how refinement works though. You can’t be molded without being changed. You can’t be changed without recoginizing the need for change. You can’t recognize the need for change until you take a hard look at your sin. I have a feeling this is just the tip of the iceberg on this topic.

One major struggle right now is fear. You name it, and I fear it….despite countless exhortations in Scripture NOT to fear. Journaling a few weeks ago, I quickly listed 20 specific fears about walking this road to Guatemala, all of which reveal deeper issues of trust, control and patience . I have, however, found tremendous encouragement through His Word and friends who have been praying for me.

Psalm 27 has given me particular encouragement:

 1The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

3Though an army encamp against me,  my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me,   yet I will be confident.

 5For he will hide me in his shelter  in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;  he will lift me high upon a rock.

In the midst of actual danger, David was confident in the Lord and His provision. He was hidden in the Lord’s shelter. Why am I any different? As a child of God, my life is now hidden in Christ. I have nothing to fear.

You may be wondering about the title of this post. Well, in case you haven’t guessed it, we are finalizing my support goal right now for the  (at least) 14 monthsI will be on staff as a missionary of Great Commission Ministries on a team with The Village Church. While I don’t have an exact number right now, the range is, well, frightening.

I am confident that the Lord will gather a team of prayer and finanical supporters. He has not called me to this without the full assurance of His faithfulness. Would you please pray with me that God would be stirring the hearts of others to join me on the journey?

For any interested in beginning a financial gift, I would love to meet/talk with you personally, but if you are anxious to begin giving, you can visit www.mygcm.net and register as a donor to begin a recurring gift or give a special gift.

Responses

  1. I am reminded of a favorite quote of mine: “God’s work done in God’s way will never lack God’s resources.” Hudson Taylor (missionary)

    Praying for you daily Susan! Heb. 13:20-21

    • Jeff—yes! one of my favorites! thank you for the reminder and encouragement. i am so grateful for you and beth!

  2. Girl, I totally and absolutely know these feelings. Let me encourage you, though, by telling you that the Lord blew me away with His provision and faithfulness. I felt silly for worrying later because He very quickly met every need I had. Hang in there and don’t let the enemy discourage you. If God has called you to this (and He has) He will provide every single little thing you need. I’m excited to watch it unfold! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

