Posted by: susankayjones | October 14, 2009

training-palooza

 sunday afternoon at 2:00 marked the official “start” to Great Commission Ministries (GCM) new staff training (though i’m not yet officially on staff yet). it’s amazing to think of how much i have learned, felt and experienced in such a short amount of time. let’s just say…God is good.

you might think that they’d ease us in to training, since most of us had early mornings and long travel journeys to Orlando. but, you would be wrong. we jumped right in with all things GCM—and it was really a good time! when we finished Sunday evening…around 10:00….i was really struggling with a lot of fear. not really fear about support raising, but just a general overwhelmed feeling with everything to do in the coming 10 months that The Village Church has outlined for training in addition to what we learned that night re: GCM ministry team development.

it was through a loving and godly friend that the Lord disciplined me in that moment to expose my fear and bring me to my knees. the Spirit showed up in might ways, and truly I left our prayer changed. Praise God…my fear has been cast out, and I can honestly say that I had nothing to do with it! HE IS GOOD!

today has been great. We learned about the biblical basis for raising up a ministry team of supporters, and then got into some practical steps re: “name-storming.” It was actually quite fun.

please continue to pray for me. I feel encouraged and excited, but the days are extremely long. Please pray for perseverance and endurance to stay alert and healthy throughout the week.

on an unrelated note…

SHOUT OUT-ok, so I have to brag a little about my big sister! her team took the USTA League championship for 3.0 women this weekend. AND…several times, her match determined whether their team would advance…including the final match of the championship (tie-breaker!). she’s a rockstar and I wanted everyone to know!

Responses

  1. Keep up the “animo” Susan! I am so proud and encouraged by you girls.

    • thank you kailah. your words have encouraged me more than you know. “a word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.” thank you sister.


Leave a Reply

Categories

